Job Hunting in the UK is now like searching for the ‘one’

Posted on

Well as you may have experience or heard that job hunting if very hard now specially with the new government.
I maybe an International Wedding Planner however I still am in search for a job, when I finished my studies last year (thank god) I started searching for a job whilst searching I was starting up my own business and now reforming that business due to the economic crisis. It’s going to be a year nearly that I have been unemployed, thank to my parents I have been able to survive financially or I would’ve been really doomed.

I made a professional take a look at my CV but they said nothing is wrong, with it then I did a ‘fake’ telephone and face2face interview he said I was very good and knew how to answers the question straight away without hesitating so then I thought what’s the problem why am I not getting a job? I came to an understanding that it won’t be any time soon that I will be getting a job because me without having excess amount of experience and the little I do have it’s just not simply enough. However, this doesn’t stop me from looking because I don’t believe in quitting unless it’s necessary like my studies I didn’t do further education because I know it will be a waste of time and money for me, I don’t have an interest in education never did and don’t think I will.

Insha’allah one ay I will get a job and maybe it won’t be the best but guess what? At this moment I don’t think I’ll be fussy in what the pay is (unless peanuts) a job is a job at the end of the day. I mean the other day I got called for a telephone interview for a 60k job I mean I applied just thinking they really that they won’t even bother reading my covering letter after seeing my CV but they did and it did help me because at the end when he kindly told me I didn’t get the job but gave me feedback and it was again due to my experience. I wasn’t sad about it I was happy they acknowledged my application. It was to be a Wedding Planner for a client based in the Middle East, contract from June to Sept and you travel to the Middle East and back! It would’ve been amazing to have gotten the job but it was too good to be true but it didn’t stop me from looking I am still in the search and will be for a very long time.
I am still doing freelance wedding planning which is good because I’m doing it on the side but again it’s not a guarantee now is it? I may get a client now but then what happens when I’ve finished with that wedding?

In the mean time while I am searching for a job some may wonder what I do with my time, well I balance it around my sisters time-table because they are mothers and they work full-time it’s sad because they don’t get to spend time with their childrens but I rather they give their kids to me than strangers and pay so much for it. I do get paid or they get what I want and it’s usually expensive things I look for when I know they are paying šŸ˜‰ Also I help around the household chores, my mother isn’t that fit lady she was before giving birth to 8 kids she’s gone fat now (LOL) and also a bit old (LOL) and my dad well he does his bit so can’t complain. Which ever person think that a “housewive” have got it lucky not working trust me you will be happy to be working than staying at home and working. But can’t compalin many people enjoy it. Also if any of my friends are reading this and wondering ‘whatever’ how can she be so busy. Well I would like for you to understand that looking after children, helping out in the house, looking for a job, starting your own business and spending time with family isn’t a part-time thing. It takes time, would I rather go out and spend so much money than help my mother around the house and kids? I rather do that than spend money. Yes once in a while it’s good and I do meat up with those I can meat up with but if I haven’t met up with you in ages don’t take it to heart it’s simply because our time-table clashes. Either your free I’m not or I’m free and you’re not. Hope you all understand.

Going of topic there, but why did I name this: “Job hunting in the UK is now like searching for the ‘one’ ” Because haven’t most of us always said can’t find the one and when I do I will keep hold of it, well I’m sure that all those job seekers out there that gets a job will keep hold of it for a very LONG time!

Don’t give up because if you do think about how will you be able to survive? Unless you have amazing parents that will pay for everything including paying for your holidays, outing with friends, petrol, oyster etc then don’t give up because always remember quitting is for losers! Unless you smoke you MUST quit now! hehe

Hope you have enjoyed my mini yet long blog about job hunting and how stressful it can be.

Ā 

Sheuly Begum šŸ™‚ x

P.s. the way Sir Alan Sugar is in the search for his new apprentice, and the way Britain is looking for talent that’s the way I am looking for a job but mines different it’s taking more than 3MONTHS!

About Sheuly Begum

Complicated girl living a Simple life....

Leave a comment